With today's manufacturing and food production, it's hard to know what goes into the food we eat. Food labeling helps, but not everything is listed, and what is listed is often a mystery. Most Muslims know to look out for pork, alcohol, and gelatin. But can we eat products that contain glycerol stearate?
Dietary laws for Muslims are very clear. As outlined in the Qur'an, Muslims are forbidden from consuming pork, alcohol, blood, meat dedicated to false gods, etc. It is easy to avoid these basic ingredients, but what about when the ingredients are disguised as something else? Modern food production allows manufacturers to start out with one basic product, then cook it, boil it, and process it, until they can call it something else.
Halal: Halal is a Quranic term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah- the supreme lawgiver. Eating Halal is obligatory.
Haram: Haram is a Quranic term, which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited for consumption by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.
Mushbooh: Mushbooh is an Arabic term which means suspected. If one does not know the Halal or Haram status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslim prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.
Following is a list of Halal, Haram & Mushbooh ingredients:
DISCLAIMER: The information presented here is for consideration purposes only. We strongly recommend all Muslims to re-verify the Halal-status if they feel any doubt whatsoever.
Corn Meal/Corn Starch
Fatty acid (plant)
Fungal Protease Enzyme
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
Lecithin (Soya or Vege.)
Mono Calcium phosphate
MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)
Nonfat Dry Milk
Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
|Gelatin / Kosher Gelatin|
Ethoxylated Mono-/Di Glyceride
Fatty acid (animal)
|Hydrolyzed Animal Protein|
Renin / Rennet